Best comics, graphic novels and webcomics of 2019: Cartoonist Studio Prize shortlist.

Slate maintains relationships with various online retailers. If you purchase something through our links, Slate may earn an affiliate commission. We update links when possible, but note that offers may expire and all prices are subject to change. All prices were current at the time of publication.

The Slate Book Review and the Center for Cartoon Studies are proud to announce the nominees for the eighth annual Cartoonist Studio Awards. The winner of each of our categories will be announced in May. Each winner will receive $1,000 and eternal glory. The nominees were selected by Dan Kois of Slate and faculty and students at the Center for Cartoon Studies (represented by the center’s Dan Nott). Winners will be selected by Kois, CCS faculty and students, and special guest judge Candida Rifkind, comic book critic and researcher at the University of Winnipeg.

Last year’s winners: Keiler Roberts, for Chlorine gardensand Lauren Weinstein, for “Being an Artist and a Mother.”

Photo illustration by Slate.

The Cartoonist Studio Award for Best Print Comic of the Year: 2019 Shortlist

Bttm Fdrs by Ben Passmore and Ezra Claytan Daniels. Fantagraphies.
kites by the Stanford Graphic Novel Project. Self-published.
Glenn Ganges in the river at night by Kevin Huizenga. Drawn and quarterly.
Grass by Keum Suk Gendry-Kim. Drawn and quarterly.
The hard tomorrow by Eleanor Davis. Drawn and quarterly.
hot comb by Ebony Flowers. Drawn and quarterly.
Laura Dean keep breaking up with me by Mariko Tamaki and Rosemary Valero-O’Connell. First second.
Pittsburgh by Frank Santoro. New York Review Comics.
Sobek by James Stokoe. ShortBox.
The tenderness of stones by Marion Fayolle. New York Review Comics.

Panels of the 10 nominated comics.
Photo illustration by Slate

The Cartoonist Studio Award for Best Web Comic of the Year: 2019 Shortlist

“About the Face” by Nate Powell.
Cabramatta by Matt Huynh.
Eat Street Diners Club by Will Dinski.*
“I am more than my chromosomes” by Elísabet Rún.
Korean by Eunsoo Jeong.
“Loving My Inner Black Weirdo” by Bianca Xunise.*
Paranatural by Zack Morrison.
Sleepless Domain by Mary Cagle.
Tiger, Tiger by Petra Erika Nordlund.
“Unhealthy” by Abby Howard.

Congratulations to our 20 nominees!

Correction, April 13, 2020: This post originally misspelled the last names of Bianca Xunise and Will Dinski.